Denton Arson Defense Attorney
Defending Against Arson Charges in Denton, Texas
There are many reasons why a fire may start in a home, warehouse, or other structure in and around Denton, Texas. However, the law prohibits individuals from intentionally or recklessly causing a fire or setting fire to a building. If the state prosecutor is able to demonstrate, beyond a reasonable doubt, that an individual started a fire deliberately (or in a reckless manner), then the accused individual may be found guilty and convicted of arson.
The penalties for an arson conviction in Denton are high. If you have been charged with arson, the knowledgeable legal team at Brent D. Bowen, Attorney At Law is ready to assist you with your legal defense.
Elements of a Criminal Arson Charge
As in all criminal cases, the state prosecutor has the burden of proving that you are guilty of arson. The Texas Penal Code divides felony arson into various degrees, depending on the seriousness of the offense:
- First-degree felony arson – A person may be charged with and convicted of first-degree felony arson for deliberately starting a fire that leads to death or bodily injury (or that the arsonist specifically intends to destroy or damage a home, place of worship, or place of assembly).
- Second-degree felony arson – A person may be charged with and convicted of second-degree felony arson in Texas if he or she starts a fire with the intention of only causing property damage. The majority of arson offenses that occur in the State of Texas are of the second-degree arson variety.
- Third-degree felony arson – A person may be charged with and convicted of third-degree felony arson in Texas if he or she starts a fire in a reckless manner – and while in the process of manufacturing a controlled substance – causing death or bodily harm to another individual.
- State jail felony arson – A person may be charged with and convicted of state jail felony arson in Texas if he or she recklessly starts a fire, while in the process of producing a controlled substance, that brings about damage to a vehicle, home, or building. A person who starts a fire that results in reckless destruction or damage to a structure – or reckless death or bodily injury – may also be charged with and convicted of state jail felony arson.
Potential Penalties for a Conviction
An arson conviction can lead to serious penalties. A first-degree felony arson conviction, for example, can lead to life in prison or between five and 99 years of incarceration. A second-degree felony arson conviction can result in between two and 20 years of imprisonment while a third-degree conviction can result in between two and ten years confinement. Finally, a conviction for state jail felony arson can result in between 180 days and two years of incarceration. These periods of incarceration may also be accompanied by monetary fines.
Speak with a Denton Arson Attorney About Your Legal Matter Today
If you have been charged with arson, the experienced team of attorneys at Brent D. Bowen, Attorney At Law is ready to assist. For a free legal consultation and case evaluation with a Denton arson lawyer, please contact us online today.