Vehicular Homicide Defense Lawyer
Protecting Your Rights in Serious Vehicular Homicide Cases
Unfortunately, thousands of people die in traffic accidents each year in the State of Texas. Sometimes, an accident is deemed just that – and no one is accused of violating the law. In other situations, law enforcement officers might decide that a driver committed a serious violation of the law to cause the crash. If the accident was fatal, this could lead to vehicular homicide charges.
Any homicide charge is an extremely serious matter, and you need the highest quality of representation if you have been accused of this offense. At the Law Office of Brent D. Bowen, PLLC, we take on the toughest criminal cases, including vehicular homicide cases. If you are arrested and charged, you should not wait to call our office for help immediately.
Possible Charges after a Fatal Crash
If police believe that you caused the death of another person in a traffic accident, you could face different charges depending on the allegations against you.
This charge applies if you allegedly were driving in a reckless manner when the death occurred. Recklessness means that you knowingly acted in a manner that created a serious and unjustified risk to others and constituted a gross deviation from the care a reasonable person would have used in that situation. Manslaughter is charged as a second-degree felony, which means a possible $10,000 fine and two to 20 years in prison if you are convicted.
Criminally Negligent Homicide
This charge applies when the prosecutor claims you acted with criminal negligence. Criminal negligence means that you unknowingly did something that created a serious and unjustified risk to others, and constituted a gross deviation from the care a reasonable person would have used in that situation. Because the conduct was unknowing, this is a less serious charge than manslaughter, though it is still a serious matter. Criminally negligent homicide is charged as a state jail felony, which means a possible $10,000 fine and 180 days to two years in jail if you are convicted.
This charge specifically applies to drivers who caused fatal accidents while they were driving while intoxicated (DWI). Intoxicated means that their blood alcohol content (BAC) was over the legal limit of 0.08 percent, or they were impaired by drugs to the degree of not having their normal physical or mental faculties. Texas law takes drunk driving extremely seriously, so the consequences of killing someone while you are intoxicated are particularly harsh. This is a second-degree felony unless the victim was an on-duty officer, firefighter, or EMT, and then it can be a first-degree felony. A first-degree felony comes with a possible penalty of five years to life in prison. This conviction also comes with a driver’s license suspension of up to two years.
Contact a Texas Vehicular Homicide Defense Attorney as Soon as Possible
All charges related to vehicular homicide can alter the rest of your life. Do not wait to speak with the Law Office of Brent D. Bowen, PLLC about your defense. Call 940-222-2488 or contact us online today.